HOME    »    ABOUT THE IMA    »    Board of Governors
Bjorn Engquist
Professor, ICES, The University of Texas at Austin

Bjorn Engquist received his Ph.D. degree in numerical analysis from Uppsala University in1975. Engquist is a member of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences, the Royal Swedish Academy of Engineering Sciences and the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters. He was a Guggenheim Fellow, received the first Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics Prize in Scientific Computing, and the Henrici Prize. Engquist joined The University of Texas at Austin in 2004, where he holds the Computational and Applied Mathematics Chair I, and is director of the Institute for Computational Engineering and Sciences (ICES) Center for Numerical Analysis. Engquist’s research focuses on development and analysis of numerical methods for differential equations.

Research Web Page
Connect With Us: