HOME    »    ABOUT THE IMA    »    Publications
Press Room
Former IMA Postdoc Randy Ewoldt Receives NSF CAREER Award

Randy Ewoldt, assistant professor in the Department of Mechanical Science and Engineering at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, was recently named the recipient of an NSF Faculty Early Career Development (CAREER) Program award.

The five-year award, which honors junior faculty who exemplify the role of teacher-scholars through outstanding research, excellent education, and the integration of education and research within the context of the mission of their organizations, will allow him to continue his research on "Thixotropic Yield Stress Fluids—Splashing, Spreading, Sticking."

Ewoldt was a postdoctoral fellow at the IMA from 2009 until 2011. His visit coincided with the institute’s Thematic Program on "Complex Fluids and Complex Flows." His research group studies rheology, non-Newtonian fluid mechanics, mathematical modeling, and design involving soft materials. A press release on his award can be found on the University of Illinois website.

Former postdoctoral fellows at the IMA who have received the NSF CAREER Award include John Voight (2012), Anton Leykin (2012), Jiawang Nie (2009), Selim Esedoglu (2008), and Jose Nathan Kutz (2001).

Connect With Us: