more options

Contact Information

Program Registration

Postdoc/Membership Application

Program Feedback

Material from Talks


Industrial Programs

Program Solicitation


Join our Mailing Lists



Participating Institutions Council   Industrial Advisory Board
University of Minnesota Advisory Committee

IMA Board of Governors

The Board of Governors consists of twelve distinguished mathematical scientists from academia, industry, and government laboratories. It is the principal external governing body of the IMA. It provides oversight and direction for all major aspects of the IMA operation. The Board keeps aware of all major aspects of the IMA operation. They advise the Director on the management of the institute. They approve any major policy changes and programs, including the approval of the topic of the annual thematic program and its organizing committee. They select the Director. The Board, with a combined expertise covering a very broad range of contemporary mathematics and applications and access to an even broader portion of the relevant communities, is an important source of suggestions for program topics, lead organizers, and programmatic mechanisms for the IMA.

2005 Board of Governors
Name Institution Tenure
Michael P. Brenner
Harvard University 1/1/05-12/31/07
L. Pamela Cook
University of Delaware 1/1/04-12/31/06
Charles R. Doering
University of Michigan 1/1/05-12/31/07
Katherine B. Ensor
Rice University 1/1/04-12/31/06
Robert V. Kohn
New York University 1/1/04-12/31/06
T. Craig Poling
Lockheed Martin 1/1/04-12/31/06
Bernd Sturmfels
University of California at Berkeley 1/1/05-12/31/07
Eitan Tadmor
University of Maryland, College Park 1/1/03-12/31/05
Philippe Tondeur
http: //
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign 1/1/03-12/31/05
Ruth J. Williams
University of California, San Diego 1/1/03-12/31/05
Margaret H. Wright
New York University 1/1/05-12/31/07
Mihalis Yannakakis
Columbia University 1/1/03-12/31/05

Complete list of all IMA Board of Governors membership since the founding of the IMA.

Top of page

Participating Institutions Council

The Participating Institutions Council consists of one representative, often the head of the mathematics department, from each academic IMA Participating Institution. The PI Council is an important source of input and oversight for the IMA, and an important conduit for information from the IMA to reach the academic community. The Council is kept aware of the activities of the IMA through regular mailings. It meets for a full day each year.

Participating Institutions Council
Institution Representative
Carnegie Mellon University Roy Nicolaides
Professor and Department Head
Department of Mathematical Sciences
Georgia Institute of Technology William T. Trotter
Chair, School of Mathematics
Indiana University
David Hoff
Chair, Department of Mathematics
Iowa State University
Justin Peters
Chair, Department of Mathematics
Kent State University Andrew Tonge
Chair, Department of Mathematics
Michigan State University Peter Bates
Chair, Department of Mathematics

Mississippi State University


Michael M. Neumann
Chair, Department of Mathematics

Main IMA contact:
Ratnasingham Shivaji

Northern Illinois University William Blair (Bill)
Chair, Department of Mathematics
Ohio State University Peter March
Chair, Department of Mathematics
Pennsylvania State University Nigel Higson
Chair, Department of Mathematics
Purdue University Leonard Lipshitz
Head, Department of Mathematics
Rice University

William W. Symes
Chair, Department of Computational and Applied Mathematics

Katherine B. Ensor
Chair, Department of Statistics

Texas A&M University
Albert Boggess
Chair, Department of Mathematics
University of Chicago Kevin Corlette
Chair, Department of Mathematics
University of Cincinnati Timothy Hodges (Tim)
Head, Department of Mathematical Sciences
University of Delaware Philip Broadbridge
Chair, Mathematical Sciences Department
University of Houston-University Park  Jeff Morgan
Interim Chair, Department of Mathematics
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign Daniel R. Grayson
Chair, Department of Mathematics
University of Iowa David Manderscheid
Chair, Department of Mathematics

University of Kentucky

Richard Carey
Chair, Department of Mathematics

David R. Adams
IMA Contact

University of Maryland at College Park Patrick M. Fitzpatrick
Department of Mathematics
University of Michigan Trevor Wooley
Department of Mathematics
University of Minnesota Larry Gray
Head, School of Mathematics
University of Notre Dame

Steven Buechler
Department of Mathematics

Bill Dwyer
IMA Contact

University of Pittsburgh John Chadam
Chair, Department of Mathematics & Statistics
University of Texas at Austin J. Tinsley Oden
Institute for Computational Engineering and Sciences
University of Wisconsin at Madison David Griffeath
Chair, Department of Mathematics
University of Wyoming Sivaguru S. Sritharan
Head, Department of Mathematics
Wayne State University Lowell Hansen
Chair, Mathematics Department

Top of page

Industrial Advisory Board

The Industrial Advisory Board is the industrial counterpart of the IMA Participating Institutions Council. It consists of one representative from each of the IMA Participating Corporations and the non-academic Participating Institutions. The Industrial Advisory Board is an important source of input and oversight for the IMA, and an important conduit for information from the IMA to reach the industrial community. Its members keep aware of IMA activities through emailings, and the Board meets for a full day each year.

Industrial Advisory Board
Company/Institution Representative
David K. Misemer
Software Electronic and Mechanical Systems Laboratory
Bell Laboratories, Lucent Technologies
Boeing Company
Gregory Shubin
Consiglio Nazionale delle Ricerche (CNR)
Michiel Bertsch
Amy Rovelstad
Ford Motor Company
Erica Klampfl
Applied Science Lab
GE Healthcare
Sarah K. Patch
General Motors Corporation
Samuel P. Marin
Manufacturing Systems Research Lab
Brenda L. Dietrich
Mathematical Sciences
T.J. Watson Research Center
Johnson & Johnson Amitava Gupta
Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory
David E. Keyes
Department of Applied Physics and Applied Mathematics
Columbia University
Lockheed Martin
T. Craig Poling
Los Alamos National Laboratory
David H. Sharp
Philip J. Fleming
Global Telecomm Solutions
Sandia National Laboratories
David Womble
Computer Science Research Institute
Telcordia Technologies

Top of page

University of Minnesota Advisory Committee
The University of Minnesota Advisory Committee to the IMA serves as a conduit for information on IMA programming to the University of Minnesota community and for input from the University to the IMA on programming ideas and relevant University faculty.
Name Department
David A. Bernlohr
Biochemistry, Molecular Biology and Biophysics
John E. Connett
Mostafa Kaveh
Electrical and Computer Engineering
Glen D. Meeden
Christopher J. Nachtsheim
Operations and Management Science
Robert T. Tranquillo
Biomedical Engineering

IMA Board of Governors
Participating Institutions Council 
Industrial Advisory Board

Top of page

[Homepage]  [About the IMA]  [What's Happening Now]  [Programs and Activities]
[Preprint/Publications]  [Research Communities]  [Visitor and Local Information]
 [Program Registration]  [Program Feedback]  [Talks]  [Directory]
 ["Hot Topics" Workshops]  [People]  [Site Map]  [Search]
[Industrial Programs]   [Program Solicitation]  [Postdoc/Membership Application]  

University of Minnesota Online Privacy Statement

Last Modified: Monday, 31-Jan-2005 22:31:44 CST