Search

more options


Contact Information

Program Registration

Postdoc/Membership Application

Program Feedback

Material from Talks

Audio/Video

Industrial Programs

Program Solicitation

Calendar

Join our Mailing Lists

 

Governance

Participating Institutions Council   Industrial Advisory Board
University of Minnesota Advisory Committee

IMA Board of Governors

The Board of Governors consists of twelve distinguished mathematical scientists from academia, industry, and government laboratories. It is the principal external governing body of the IMA. It provides oversight and direction for all major aspects of the IMA operation. The Board keeps aware of all major aspects of the IMA operation. They advise the Director on the management of the institute. They approve any major policy changes and programs, including the approval of the topic of the annual thematic program and its organizing committee. They select the Director. The Board, with a combined expertise covering a very broad range of contemporary mathematics and applications and access to an even broader portion of the relevant communities, is an important source of suggestions for program topics, lead organizers, and programmatic mechanisms for the IMA.

2005 Board of Governors
Name Institution Tenure
Michael P. Brenner
brenner@deas.harvard.edu
http://www.deas.harvard.edu/brenner/
Harvard University 1/1/05-12/31/07
L. Pamela Cook
cook@math.udel.edu
http://www.math.udel.edu/people/faculty/profile/cook.html
University of Delaware 1/1/04-12/31/06
Charles R. Doering
doering@umich.edu
http://www.math.lsa.umich.edu/people/faculty/doeringC.shtml
University of Michigan 1/1/05-12/31/07
Katherine B. Ensor
kathy@stat.rice.edu
http://www.stat.rice.edu/~kathy/
Rice University 1/1/04-12/31/06
Robert V. Kohn
kohn@cims.nyu.edu
http://www.math.nyu.edu/faculty/kohn/
New York University 1/1/04-12/31/06
T. Craig Poling
craig.t.poling@lmco.com
Lockheed Martin 1/1/04-12/31/06
Bernd Sturmfels
bernd@math.berkeley.edu
http://math.berkeley.edu/~bernd/
University of California at Berkeley 1/1/05-12/31/07
Eitan Tadmor
tadmor@cscamm.umd.edu
http://www.cscamm.umd.edu/~tadmor/
University of Maryland, College Park 1/1/03-12/31/05
Philippe Tondeur
tondeur@math.uiuc.edu
http: //www.math.uiuc.edu/~tondeur
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign 1/1/03-12/31/05
Ruth J. Williams
williams@math.ucsd.edu
http://math.ucsd.edu/~williams/
University of California, San Diego 1/1/03-12/31/05
Margaret H. Wright
mhw@cs.nyu.edu
http://www.nyu.edu/fas/Faculty/WrightMargaret.html
New York University 1/1/05-12/31/07
Mihalis Yannakakis
mihalis@cs.columbia.edu
http://www1.cs.columbia.edu/%7emihalis/
Columbia University 1/1/03-12/31/05

Complete list of all IMA Board of Governors membership since the founding of the IMA.

Top of page

Participating Institutions Council

The Participating Institutions Council consists of one representative, often the head of the mathematics department, from each academic IMA Participating Institution. The PI Council is an important source of input and oversight for the IMA, and an important conduit for information from the IMA to reach the academic community. The Council is kept aware of the activities of the IMA through regular mailings. It meets for a full day each year.

Participating Institutions Council
Institution Representative
Carnegie Mellon University Roy Nicolaides
Professor and Department Head
Department of Mathematical Sciences
dept.head@math.cmu.edu
http://www.math.cmu.edu/people/fac/nicolaides.html
Georgia Institute of Technology William T. Trotter
Chair, School of Mathematics
Trotter@math.gatech.edu
Indiana University
David Hoff
Chair, Department of Mathematics
hoff@indiana.edu
Iowa State University
Justin Peters
Chair, Department of Mathematics
peters@iastate.edu
Kent State University Andrew Tonge
Chair, Department of Mathematics
tonge@math.kent.edu
Michigan State University Peter Bates
Chair, Department of Mathematics
mthchair@math.msu.edu

Mississippi State University

 

Michael M. Neumann
Chair, Department of Mathematics
neumann@math.msstate.edu

Main IMA contact:
Ratnasingham Shivaji
shivaji@math.msstate.edu

Northern Illinois University William Blair (Bill)
Chair, Department of Mathematics
blair@math.niu.edu
Ohio State University Peter March
Chair, Department of Mathematics
March.2@osu.edu
Pennsylvania State University Nigel Higson
Chair, Department of Mathematics
higson@math.psu.edu
Purdue University Leonard Lipshitz
Head, Department of Mathematics
lipshitz@math.purdue.edu
Rice University

William W. Symes
Chair, Department of Computational and Applied Mathematics
symes@caam.rice.edu

Katherine B. Ensor
Chair, Department of Statistics
kathy@stat.rice.edu

Texas A&M University
Albert Boggess
Chair, Department of Mathematics
boggess@math.tamu.edu
University of Chicago Kevin Corlette
Chair, Department of Mathematics
kevin@math.uchicago.edu
University of Cincinnati Timothy Hodges (Tim)
Head, Department of Mathematical Sciences
timothy.hodges@uc.edu
University of Delaware Philip Broadbridge
Chair, Mathematical Sciences Department
Pbroad@math.udel.edu
University of Houston-University Park  Jeff Morgan
Interim Chair, Department of Mathematics
jmorgan@math.uh.edu
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign Daniel R. Grayson
Chair, Department of Mathematics
dan@math.uiuc.edu
University of Iowa David Manderscheid
Chair, Department of Mathematics
mander@math.uiowa.edu

University of Kentucky

Richard Carey
Chair, Department of Mathematics
chair@ms.uky.edu

David R. Adams
IMA Contact
dave@ms.uky.edu

University of Maryland at College Park Patrick M. Fitzpatrick
Department of Mathematics
Pmf@math.umd.edu
University of Michigan Trevor Wooley
Department of Mathematics
mathchr@math.lsa.umich.edu
University of Minnesota Larry Gray
Head, School of Mathematics
dept@math.umn.edu
University of Notre Dame

Steven Buechler
Chairman
Department of Mathematics
Steven.A.Buechler.1@nd.edu

Bill Dwyer
IMA Contact
dwyer.1@nd.edu

University of Pittsburgh John Chadam
Chair, Department of Mathematics & Statistics
chadam+@pitt.edu
University of Texas at Austin J. Tinsley Oden
Director
Institute for Computational Engineering and Sciences
oden@ices.utexas.edu
University of Wisconsin at Madison David Griffeath
Chair, Department of Mathematics
griffeat@math.wisc.edu
University of Wyoming Sivaguru S. Sritharan
Head, Department of Mathematics
Sri@uwyo.edu
http://math.uwyo.edu/Prof_home/Sri.html
Wayne State University Lowell Hansen
Chair, Mathematics Department
lowell@math.wayne.edu

Top of page

Industrial Advisory Board

The Industrial Advisory Board is the industrial counterpart of the IMA Participating Institutions Council. It consists of one representative from each of the IMA Participating Corporations and the non-academic Participating Institutions. The Industrial Advisory Board is an important source of input and oversight for the IMA, and an important conduit for information from the IMA to reach the industrial community. Its members keep aware of IMA activities through emailings, and the Board meets for a full day each year.

Industrial Advisory Board
Company/Institution Representative
3M
David K. Misemer
Software Electronic and Mechanical Systems Laboratory
Dkmisemer@mmm.com
Bell Laboratories, Lucent Technologies
Boeing Company
Gregory Shubin
greg.shubin@boeing.com
Consiglio Nazionale delle Ricerche (CNR)
Michiel Bertsch
Bertsch@iac.rm.cnr.it
Corning
Amy Rovelstad
RovelstaAL@Corning.com
ExxonMobil
Ford Motor Company
Erica Klampfl
eklampfl@ford.com
Applied Science Lab
GE Healthcare
Sarah K. Patch
sarah.patch@med.ge.com
General Motors Corporation
Samuel P. Marin
Manufacturing Systems Research Lab
Samuel.p.marin@gm.com
Honeywell
IBM
Brenda L. Dietrich
Mathematical Sciences
T.J. Watson Research Center dietric@us.ibm.com
Johnson & Johnson Amitava Gupta
agupta@slgus.jnj.com
Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory
David E. Keyes
Department of Applied Physics and Applied Mathematics
Columbia University
david.keyes@columbia.edu
Lockheed Martin
T. Craig Poling
craig.t.poling@lmco.com
Los Alamos National Laboratory
David H. Sharp
Dhs@lanl.gov
Motorola
Philip J. Fleming
Global Telecomm Solutions
P.Fleming@motorola.com
Sandia National Laboratories
David Womble
Computer Science Research Institute
dewombl@cs.sandia.gov
http://www.cs.sandia.gov/~dewombl/main.html
Schlumberger
Siemens
Telcordia Technologies

Top of page

University of Minnesota Advisory Committee
The University of Minnesota Advisory Committee to the IMA serves as a conduit for information on IMA programming to the University of Minnesota community and for input from the University to the IMA on programming ideas and relevant University faculty.
Name Department
David A. Bernlohr
bernl001@umn.edu
http://www.cbs.umn.edu/BMBB/faculty/Bernlohr.D.A.html
Biochemistry, Molecular Biology and Biophysics
John E. Connett
john-c@umn.edu
http://www.biostat.umn.edu/~john-c/john-c.homepage.html
Biostatistics
Mostafa Kaveh
mos@ece.umn.edu
http://www.ece.umn.edu/faculty/kaveh.html
Electrical and Computer Engineering
Glen D. Meeden
glen@stat.umn.edu
http://www.stat.umn.edu/booklet/glen/homepage.html
Statistics
Christopher J. Nachtsheim
cnachtsheim@csom.umn.edu
http://www.csom.umn.edu/Page2075.aspx?type=faculty&eid=36366124
Operations and Management Science
Robert T. Tranquillo
tranquil@umn.edu
http://www2.itdean.umn.edu/faculty/detail.jsp?facultyID=356
Biomedical Engineering

IMA Board of Governors
Participating Institutions Council 
Industrial Advisory Board

Top of page

[Homepage]  [About the IMA]  [What's Happening Now]  [Programs and Activities]
[Preprint/Publications]  [Research Communities]  [Visitor and Local Information]
 [Program Registration]  [Program Feedback]  [Talks]  [Directory]
 ["Hot Topics" Workshops]  [People]  [Site Map]  [Search]   webmaster@ima.umn.edu
[Industrial Programs]   [Program Solicitation]  [Postdoc/Membership Application]  

University of Minnesota Online Privacy Statement

Last Modified: Monday, 31-Jan-2005 22:31:44 CST